Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Roomies

 by Sara Zarr and Tara Altebrando

***Guest post by Amanda B.***

It's the summer before college and when Elizabeth finds out her roommate at Berkeley will be some girl from San Francisco named Lauren, she sends her an e-mail with the provided e-mail address. When Lauren gets Elizabeth's e-mail and finds out instead of getting a single, she will be living with a girl from New Jersey, she isn't happy. Despite her unhappiness, Lauren responds to Elizabeth's e-mail anyway. The girls begin a relationship through e-mail where they find they are discussing more than who should bring the microwave (family, friends, boys). The girls get into some drama with each other, and it leads to the question: will they be still roomies when it comes school starts.

The chapters of this book alternate between Elizabeth and Lauren's life with their e-mails as the only link between them. Roomies is a fun story about friendship, romance and the worry about life before college (including who your roommate is going to be.)

Those who are planning on dorming at college should give this a read before they go.

Thursday, January 22, 2015


You should read The Outsiders. It's really good.

Monday, January 19, 2015

Paper Airplanes

by Dawn O'Porter

***Guest post by Amanda B.***


On the island of Guernsey in 1994 lived Flo and Renee, two girls dealing with their own stories. One night Renee helps a drunken Flo home and despite their differences, a friendship begins. Flo and Renee first keep their friendship a secret, meeting outside of school and secretly passing notes through paper airplanes. The girls find, in each other, the friend they each desperately need to help them deal with their dysfunctional families, friend drama , and the general struggles of being a teenage girl. 

This story is told in Flo and Renee’s alternating perspectives. It is an engaging story about friends that takes place in a time before cell phones and social media. Even though it takes place in 1994, readers will still find ways to relate to the characters and enjoy the realistic feel of what its like to be a teenager.

Fans of contemporary British writers, such as Louise Rennison, should be sure to give this a try

Friday, January 16, 2015

Scrawl

by Mark Shulman

Tod is a bully. He'll be the first one to tell you that. Breaking glasses, stealing money, and being late to class
. Tod is a bully and in trouble and a delinquent.
Tod gets in crazy big trouble with his friends and is forced to sit in detention and write in a notebook every day by his guidance counselor Mrs. Woodrow. He is supposed to write his story, but what comes out is much more - and that notebook is the actual book. Sometimes the teacher interjects - writes in the margins - so there is more than one voice in the story.
Tod, as it turns out, is a bully. But his actions are not inexplicable. And maybe he has a lot more going on in his mind than everyone thinks.
Fans of Jerry Spinelli and Jordan Sonnenblick will probably dig this one.

Sunday, January 4, 2015

The Voice Inside My Head

by S.J. Laidlaw

***Guest post by Amanda B.***

Everyone says Luke’s sister Pat drowned but he refuses to believe it. Determined to prove she is still alive and bring her home, Luke heads to the small island where she disappeared. While there, he meets those who knew his sister during her time on the island and learns the girl they describe is different than the Pat he knew. With newly found allies and Pat’s voice inside his head, Luke is out to find out the truth about what happened to his sister.
Readers may find this mystery page turner. There are some parts readers may find pointless or boring, but many are important to figuring out what happened to Pat. Overall this story is an engaging read where readers will enjoy trying to figure out what happened to Pat right along with Luke.

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Tuesday, December 23, 2014

In Too Deep

by Coert Voorhees

 Annie goes to the premier L.A. private school for teens of the rich and famous. She isn't rich or famous, though. Her dad is a teacher there, so she gets a scholarship. She loves to scuba dive, and is going on a volunteer trip to Mexico to help rebuild some earthquake-destroyed towns. Once there, however, her teacher announces that he would like her to help him find a buried treasure, and her scuba skills are what he really needs to find it. Searching for the priceless Golden Jaguar with her boy crush, her teacher, and her knowledge of buried treasure is exciting, but things turn dangerous when she realizes that others are looking for the Jaguar, and are willing to kill for it.
This is a really fun adventure book. Annie is a good kid, and funny, and her friends are wacky and privileged and interesting. The abundance of wealth and ease of equipment to ease the storyline "we can use my parent's boat...we can use my mom's private jet" makes the mystery a little less plausible and a little more like a movie. But it's fun and funny and maybe there's even a little romance and a little treasure to be found!