Wednesday, November 25, 2015


by Jennifer Bradbury

Two guys go on a biking trip across the US. It's the summer before college, they are both excited, and they've been friends forever. Somewhere along they way, they get into a fight. Chris continues on to the coast, and then goes home. He assumes that Win does the same. Except Win never comes home.

Win's family think that Chris killed him. Win's father wants to destroy Chris. Chris doesn't know what happened to his friend, and every time he finds the answer to
one question, the rest of his reality begins to shift...

This is a suspenseful book with a lot of tension!

This post was originally published before on the blog. We are revisiting some reviews because we think  you'll find the story enthralling. If you're looking for a tense mystery, here you go.

Sunday, November 22, 2015

Going Bovine

by Libba Bray

Cameron is a slacker - at school, at home - he just doesn't do anything. Then Cameron is diagnosed with Creutzfeldt-Jakob's, which is also known as Mad Cow Disease. From there, the book really takes off - literally. Cameron and a dwarf named Gonzo go on a road trip (which may or may not be a hallucination), to find a doctor (who was described to Cameron by an angel) who may have a cure.

This book is crazy and awesome and even if you can't follow the description above, you will certainly be better off after reading it.

This review was originally published a few years ago, but it's a great story. Fans of All the Bright Places, Looking for Alaska, and Me & Earl & the Dying Girl are sure to like it.

Thursday, November 19, 2015

Books about Grief

When a Friend Dies: A book for Teens About Grieving and Healing by Marilyn E. Gootman, Ed.D
This book is short "sound bites" about different things that happen during the process of grieving with ideas about how to process and heal.

Healing Your Grieving Heart for Teens: 100 Practical Ideas
by Alan D. Wolfelt, Ph.D
These are 100 concrete things to do when someone dies, including "write a letter to the person who died" and "remember someone else who had a special connection to the person who died". It may be helpful if you are looking for something to do that will help you figure out how to deal with what you are feeling.

Teens, Loss and Grief: The Ultimate Teen Guide
by Edward Myers with illustrations by Kelly Adams

Kinds of loss, ways it affects a person, what to do about it, warning signs about dealing with grief and more resources are all covered in this book. The author tries to cover a lot of different situations,and you may find the answers you need here, or resources to find more information.

Monday, November 16, 2015

The Running Dream

by Wendelin Van Draanen

Jessica is a runner and has just run her best race - her fastest time. Then a tragic bus accident happens, and she loses half of one of her legs. Jessica struggles with finding out who she is when she can no longer run, and adapting to her new life with crutches and a lot of pain. Jessica meets Rosa, who is in a wheelchair and largely ignored at her school. Rosa gives Jessica the support she needs when she decides she wants to run again.

This is a very interesting book with a lot of great characters. There is a little romance and a lot of running talk. People who like books about strong people overcoming their problems will really dig this one.

We have reposted this review from a previous time. The book is awesome and you should read it.

Thursday, November 12, 2015


by Julie Murphy

****Guest Post by Amanda B.****

Willowdean Dickson is not afraid to call herself fat. Sure it's not easy when your mother is a former Miss Teen Blue Bonnet winner and now runs the contest every year, but Willowdean is still comfortable in her own body. Things however begin to change after her dreamy coworker kisses her by the dumpster behind work and she and her best friend Ellen seem to be growing apart. It also doesn't help that she is still grieving the loss of her aunt. All this somehow leads to Willowdean deciding to enter Miss Teen Blue Bonnet, and somehow encouraging some other "misfits" to join her. Willowdean doesn't want to be some inspiring fat girl, but it's not about to stop her from doing what she wants.
This is a refreshing book dealing with a character who is comfortable in her body, when similar characters may not be. There is more to Willowdean than being the fat girl and readers will enjoy the ways they can relate to her. Dumplin' is a story dealing with friends, family and relationships in High School, as well as being proud to be who you are.

Monday, November 9, 2015

All These Things I've Done

By Gabrielle Zevin
In a future world, chocolate and coffee are illegal, water and paper are hard to find, and NYC is full of criminals. Anya Balanchine, the daughter of NYC's most notorious (now dead) crime boss (who illegally made and sold chocolate), goes through her day to day life taking care of her little sister and going to school. Suddenly, someone turns up dead after ingesting chocolate that Anya's family company makes, and the police think SHE is to blame.
This is a dystopian thriller romance, with both everyday things and completely fantastical things. Readers who like Another Faust, The Matched Series or The Hunger Games may like this one!

This post was previously published, but we've brought it up again, because it's a great book for fans of dystopian novels, and it's the beginning of a series!

Saturday, November 7, 2015